3D art tutorials and much more!

[Blog]Having a good start in the year 2012

Some new news from my side. I am currently working at EGOSOFT as a 3D artist, it is “just” an 6 months (or a few months more) long internship, but im very, very glad that this actually happens!

I am working on the actual game “X-Rebirth”, its a huge space-simulator with a lot of features following the slogan: “think, trade, build, fight”.

At the moment, i am working on creating some content (Spacecrafts) with the open source 3D suite Blender, but the main software at Egosoft is 3DSMAx, which will be used to export the models to the realtime engine. Blender does not support a lot of stuff, that is important to have ingame so i just can model and texture my planes, i will probably take a look at Max there, to finish my models by myself.

The first week was absolutly amazing, its such a nice team which will always help you if you struggle while doing your work, also i learn a ton of new techniques, which are so mindblowing.*argh* i never thought of a lot of their workflows, so my models looks 10 times better than you can see on my deviantart page, just because i did not know about 3 techniques before 😀

I hope my next month will be as awesome as the first week, at friday i just sat there in front of my PC and didn’t want to stop modeling, because the conceptart was so fresh and great to fill with lovely details! I cant wait to see my spacecrafts in the finished game 🙂 Nevermind, i stopped working on the ship only to play soccer against my chef 😛

When i have some time for this page, i will show some parts of the workflow, that i learned there just to help you creating some nice ships 🙂

And now for those, who dont know this awesome game series named simply “X”: here is the trailer of the upcoming game!

2 responses

  1. Cool! I have both TC and Reunion, It’s nice to have found the blog of an actual Egosoft developer 🙂 so, do you just model spaceships? or do you also texture them?

    January 16, 2012 at 8:34 pm

    • Glad you like the older x games 🙂
      i am itroduced in the whole pipeline, i already modeled two ships that are now in the game i also uv map them and use current textures out of the pool. i also create new textures. so i wont miss anything.

      January 17, 2012 at 10:14 pm

Leave a Reply

